What are the Sustainable Development Goals?

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, were adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015 as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity by 2030.

The 17 SDGs are integrated—that is, they recognize that action in one area will affect outcomes in others, and that development must balance social, economic and environmental sustainability.

Through the pledge to Leave No One Behind, countries have committed to fast-track progress for those furthest behind first. That is why the SDGs are designed to bring the world to several life-changing ‘zeros’, including zero poverty, hunger, AIDS and discrimination against women and girls.

Everyone is needed to reach these ambitious targets. The creativity, knowhow, technology and financial resources from all of society is necessary to achieve the SDGs in every context.

  1. 貧困をなくそう No poverty
  2. 飢餓をゼロに Zero hunger
  3. すべての人に健康と福祉を  Good health and well-being
  4. 質の高い教育をみんなに Quality education
  5. ジェンダー平等を実現しよう Gender equality
  6. 安全な水とトイレを世界中に Clean water and sanitation
  7. エネルギーをみんなに そしてクリーンに Affordable and clean energy
  8. 働きがいも経済成長も Decent work and economic growth
  9. 産業と技術革新の基盤をつくろう Industry, innovation, infrastructure
  10. 人や国の不平等をなくそう Reduced inequalities
  11. 住み続けられるまちづくりを Sustainable cities and communities
  12. つくる責任 つかう責任 Responsible consumption, production
  13. 気候変動に具体的な対策を Climate action
  14. 海の豊かさを守ろう Life below water
  15. 陸の豊かさも守ろう Life on land
  16. 平和と公正をすべての人に Peace, justice and strong institutions
  17. パートナーシップで目標を達成しよう Partnerships for the goals